Durga Puja.

I have 5 projects in the pipeline plus the usual Methods shenanigans – I’m quite busy and sleep is secondary. But I’m excited for the posts that will go up this week. I won’t preview too much; suffice it to say that there is more to art in Lakeview than initially meets the eye (some sinister, some democratic, all intriguing).

Today is Kali Puja, or Diwali (commonly referred to as the Hindu festival of lights). It’s a new moon tonight, but just a fortnight ago was Navratri, or the nine nights celebrating the goddess Durga’s triumph over evil. I am not religious (I’d consider myself somewhere between agnostic and deist), but I’ve grown up with the Hindu culture and it has shaped much of my childhood experiences. I thought it would be interesting to provide people with a glimpse of this vibrant, colorful, noisy festival season a few weeks ago.

As they say, namaskar, or “I bow to the divine in you.”

Leave a comment